Largest Cities in Vanuatu

Facts about Vanuatu

Official languages: Bislama, English, French
Capital: Port Vila
Area: 12,200 km²
Population: 221,552 residents
Population density: 18.16 residents per km²
Currency: VUV
Internet TLD: .vu
ISO codes: VU, VUT, 548
The telephone code for Vanuatu is +678

Flag of Vanuatu

Vanuatu is an archipelago located in the Pacific Ocean, which until 1980 was known as the New Hebrides. This year was also the year of achieving independence from France and Great Britain. The flag leaf is divided into three main parts. There is a black wedge in the pole part of the flag, which divides the rest of the flag into red and green fields. The inner parts of individual fields are lined with a yellow and black stripe. In addition, the lapel bears the symbol of boar tusks and two cycad branches, which are meant to signify peace and prosperity. The red color of the flag refers to the blood of sacrificial wild boars, but also to human blood. The green stripe represents the islands themselves and the black their land and Melanesian population. The shape of the letter “Y” resembles the shape that the islands together form.

Vanuatu Flag

According to Abbreviation Finder, Vanuatu is a group of islands in the South Pacific and a sovereign state. This group of islands forms the island state of the same name. See Vanuatu Location on World Map. The economy consists mostly of agriculture, fishing and tourism (about 57,000 visitors in 2000). There are no natural resources.

The former New Hebrides, administered jointly by France and Great Britain from 1906, became independent in 1960.

Biggest Cities of Vanuatu by Population

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Port-Vila, Vanuatu 36,012 -17.7365 168.314
2 Luganville, Vanuatu 13,508 -15.5199 167.162
3 Isangel, Vanuatu 1,548 -19.5417 169.282
4 Sola, Vanuatu 1,282 -13.8761 167.552
5 Lakatoro, Vanuatu 816 -16.0999 167.416

You may also like...