Largest Cities in Republic of the Congo

Facts about Republic of the Congo

Official languages: French, Niger-Congo, Lingala
Capital: Brazzaville
Area: 342,000 km²
Population: 3.0 million residents
Population density: 8.89 residents per km²
Currency: XAF
Internet TLD: .cg
ISO codes: CG , COG, 178
The prefix for Congo, Republic of the Congo is +242

Republic of the Congo Flag

The Republic of the Congo (until 1960 Central Congo, 1969 to 1991 People’s Republic of the Congo) is a republic in Central Africa. Its capital is Brazzaville; the country is also known as the Congo-Brazzaville. The former French Congo is the smaller and more northern of the two Congos. In addition to the Republic of the Congo, there is also the Democratic Republic of the Congo with a similar name, the former Zaire.

The Republic of the Congo is one of the largest oil producers in sub-Saharan Africa and is suffering from falling oil prices. The diversification of other branches of the economy, particularly in mining and agriculture, is making slow progress due to the poor investment climate, as is the expansion of the infrastructure.

More than half of the population lives in the two largest cities, Pointe Noire and Brazzaville. The Republic of the Congo has to import 70 percent of its food. About 32 percent of the population live in absolute poverty on less than $ 1.25 a day.

The Federal Foreign Office continues to advise you to pay more attention when traveling to the Republic of the Congo.

Biggest Cities of Republic of the Congo by Population

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Brazzaville, Republic of The Congo 1,284,720 -4.26613 15.2832
2 Pointe-Noire, Republic of The Congo 659,195 -4.77609 11.8635
3 Dolisie, Republic of The Congo 104,005 -4.19834 12.6666
4 Kayes, Republic of The Congo 58,848 -4.20493 13.2861
5 Owando, Republic of The Congo 24,063 -0.48193 15.8999
6 Ouesso, Republic of The Congo 24,026 1.61361 16.0517
7 Loandjili, Republic of The Congo 23,315 -4.75611 11.8578
8 Madingou, Republic of The Congo 22,871 -4.15361 13.55
9 Gamboma, Republic of The Congo 20,988 -1.87639 15.8644
10 Impfondo, Republic of The Congo 20,970 1.61804 18.0598
11 Sibiti, Republic of The Congo 19,200 -3.68192 13.3498
12 Mossendjo, Republic of The Congo 18,342 -2.94968 12.7042
13 Kinkala, Republic of The Congo 13,993 -4.36139 14.7644
14 Makoua, Republic of The Congo 11,466 0.00694 15.6333
15 Djambala, Republic of The Congo 9,761 -2.54472 14.7533
16 Ewo, Republic of The Congo 5,034 -0.8725 14.8206

Republic of the Congo: Brazzaville

The capital of the Republic of the Congo is called Brazzaville. It is located in the southeast of the country on the banks of the Congo River, which here widens like a lake to the Malebo pool (formerly: Stanleypool). On the opposite bank is the capital of the DR Congo, Kinshasa.

The landmark of Brazzaville is the Tour Nabemba. With a height of 106 meters, it is the tallest building in Central Africa. In 1883 the city was founded by Pierre Savorgnan de Brazza as a trading center. Today around 1.7 million people live here. This makes Brazzaville the largest city in the country, followed by Pointe-Noire with around 720,000 inhabitants.

Countries neighboring Republic of the Congo

You may also like...