Largest Cities in Dominica

Facts about Dominica

Official languages: English
Capital: Roseau
Area: 754 km²
Population: 72,813 residents
Population density: 96.57 residents per km²
Currency: XCD
Internet TLD: .dm
ISO codes: DM, DMA, 212
The telephone code for Dominica is + 1-767

Flag of Dominica

The base of the flag of the Caribbean island nation of Dominica, which was adopted in November 1978, is a grass-green leaf. The flag is crossed by a cross, which is composed of three stripes – yellow, black and white. In addition, in the center of the cross, the national bird of Dominica, the Amazon kingfisher, is depicted, which is placed in a red circle and surrounded by ten green stars. The stars represent the ten self-governing regions of the island, the yellow color refers to the original inhabitants and to the crops typical of the island – bananas and citrus fruits. The black stripe refers to the skin color of the local inhabitants and the volcanic activity of the island, while the white traditionally signifies peace and the crystal clear water of the local rivers.

Dominica Flag

Dominica is an island in the Lesser Antilles in the eastern Caribbean. See Dominica Location on World Map. The island republic forms an independent member state of the Commonwealth of Nations. Dominica was the only Caribbean island to resist European colonization until the 18th century; then it was first controlled by France, then by Great Britain.

Because of the spectacular, lush and diverse flora and fauna, which is protected by a comprehensive system of nature parks, Dominica is also called the “natural island of the Caribbean”. Dominica has the highest mountains in the Lesser Antilles, over 300 rivers and streams and a number of geothermally active lakes.

Biggest Cities of Dominica by Population

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Roseau, Dominica 16,682 15.3017 -61.3881
2 Portsmouth, Dominica 3,744 15.5833 -61.4667
3 Berekua, Dominica 2,719 15.2333 -61.3167
4 Saint Joseph, Dominica 2,295 15.4 -61.4333
5 Wesley, Dominica 2,044 15.5667 -61.3167
6 Soufriere, Dominica 1,527 15.2337 -61.3588
7 Pointe Michel, Dominica 1,313 15.2598 -61.3745
8 Colihaut, Dominica 1,001 15.4848 -61.4622
9 Rosalie, Dominica 913 15.3667 -61.2667
10 Pont Casse, Dominica 813 15.3667 -61.35

Dominica: Roseau

According to Abbreviation Finder, the capital of Dominica is Roseau. With its 16,000 inhabitants, however, it is more of a town. Roseau is protected on the southwest coast. The city was built on the area of ​​a former village of the Caribs.

You may also like...