Largest Cities in Brunei

Facts about Brunei

Official languages: Malay, English
Capital: Bandar Seri Begawan
Area: 5,770 km²
Population: 395,027 residents
Population density: 68.46 residents per km²
Currency: BND
Internet TLD: .bn
ISO codes: BN, BRN, 96
The prefix for Brunei is +673

Flag of Brunei

The flag of Brunei, which was adopted in 1959, is composed of a yellow leaf, a black and white diagonal stripe and the coat of arms in the center of the flag. However, it has only been performing the function of the national flag since 1984, when Brunei gained independence from Britain. The coat of arms is composed of a red crescent in the lower part, two gloves raised to the sky on the sides and a parapleth in the upper part. The crescent moon is a traditional symbol of Islam, and the umbrella is meant to signify monarchy and royal dignity. The wings with four feathers decorating the parasol are supposed to guard honesty and peace. Yellow is the signature color of the Sultan of Brunei and the stripes were added to the flag in 1906 when Brunei became a British colony.

Brunei Flag

The Sultanate of Brunei (officially Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam, Malay Negara Brunei Darussalam) is a state in Southeast Asia. It is located on the island of Borneo (Indonesian Kalimantan) in the South China Sea and borders Malaysia. See Brunei Location on World Map.

The present state of Brunei represents the remainder of a historically much larger sultanate, which between the 16th and 19th centuries assigned roughly the entire north coast of Borneo to the domain of the Sultan of Brunei.

Brunei’s economy benefits from enormous natural gas fields and oil reserves, which give the state one of the highest gross domestic products in the world. Its oil resources combined with a small population and relative stability have made Brunei one of the richest countries in the world.

Biggest Cities of Brunei by Population

# City Population Latitude Longitude
1 Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei 64,520 4.89035 114.94
2 Kuala Belait, Brunei 31,289 4.58361 114.231
3 Seria, Brunei 30,208 4.60637 114.325
4 Tutong, Brunei 19,262 4.8 114.65
5 Bangar, Brunei 4,081 4.71667 115.067

Brunei: Thimphu

According to Abbreviation Finder,the capital of the country is called Thimphu. It is located at an altitude of 2320 meters. The Wang Chu River flows through Thimphu. About 91,000 people live in the city. The government, parliament and administration of Bhutan are based here.

To the west of Thimphu is the city of Paro with its international airport. Anyone traveling to Bhutan by plane will land here.

Countries neighboring Brunei

You may also like...